top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Elizabeth

1 – Gorgeous – Confidence – Build yourself up

Beauty Boss – Samantha Perry

This is my first ever blog, I have no idea what I’m doing but I know I want a voice. My passion is the beauty industry, after over 22 years in it. I’ve experienced a lot, I’ve witnessed more, and I’m left with a few thoughts. I want to make a difference, I want to help and educate, with the aim to progress those who have the passion to follow their love of beauty going forward. I believe I have that. Join me;







Where better to start, than to build self-confidence.

As a 38-year-old woman, I’m privileged to think I own my body, however if I was to sit back and really think about it, I have my issues, and so does everyone. Where does it come from, and more importantly where does it stop?


Where does it start?

So, I’ve been in my role at The International School of Beauty Therapy for over 7 years now, and each year I’m more and more shocked at the mental health issues of these beautiful young beings coming to us, from school with mental health issues. Is it social media? I’m a huge fan of social media, however I‘ve had my bad relationships with it and removed myself in times of low mood to stop the pretty pictures, perfect life’s, houses, bodies, quotes. Am I old enough to know it’s not all it seems on insta? Is it social media, or is it ‘jokes’ from friends and family? “Look at her nose!”, “what is he wearing?!” I’m sure we’re all guilty of it, is it bullying or is it carelessness, thoughtfulness, a generation thing, poor education?

Magazines, models or the Infernus ‘plus size model’ (why not just model?) Has this become our normal, is it because of the pandemic that the issue has got worse, less people safeguarding the vulnerable, being able to educate and signpost or support?


Do you know what?

I think it’s education.

Back when I was a training manager for Unilever and Dovespa, the mission was to go out and educate at high school age. See below, see the power of this video.



If we could empower our young about their body image, would we be giving them everything in beauty? Because beauty starts from the inside, right? I think so.

You, I and everyone are more beautiful than you think. Have your tissues at the ready for this next clip.



Isn’t this thought provoking, emotional and hard hitting?! Did it resign ate with you, like it did me? Did you feel it touched a nerve; don’t we all talk about ourselves like this? I certainly do. She says with Botox lifting her eyebrows, hair coloured, pink toes and hands (all stunning, if I do say so myself), they make me feel good but I could still say to you, crimes I need to loose some weight.

I read through the comments afterwards, for once no trolling, no vile comments, no negative posts, just all the same level of uplifted thought processes. So here is where I think, this is better education than Pythagoras? (no offence to the math’s lovers, but most won’t use this going forward).

“What if a mother was to sit on the chair, and her child to draw her? Or write down words they’d use to describe her. Now wouldn’t that play a big part in our confidence building.

Let’s not just talk about women either, men? They may hide it better, or joke about it better. We bang on about we’re all equal, they feel this too.

It’s no secret, I like to have a gin, then tell everyone I love them, and how pretty they are, and what wonderful people they are. Why am I waiting for a gin to tell them that? From here on, I’m not. I’m going to say as I see! Compliments heard enough, should eventually be listened to.


Where does beauty come into this?


Are we the problem? We’re going for the Botox, the fillers, the peels, should we be embracing the features we were given and maybe just giving them a lick of paint as and when needed? Should we work with what we’ve got?

Let’s be honest, we have to “do us” “be real/true to ourselves”, there you go I managed to get a love island quote in. Do whatever makes you happy, but perhaps an educated journey to that point helps, a better mental health in the process?


 


 


Heart-breaking isn’t it really that we break ourselves down like this, rather than build ourselves up. Shouldn’t this be a part of the education standards. A power statement to stay with ourselves, our children, our friends, families, and colleagues to give them a better outlook on themselves.

At the end of the day “I wish you saw you, the way I see you” Samantha Perry, a quote used daily by myself in a professional and personal setting.


@mind @berealcampaign @motherwell @dovespacampaign #younglivesmatter #letseducate #beautyfromwithin #confidence

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page