top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Elizabeth

Beauty Babe – Samantha Perry 3 – Apprenticeship – New ‘academic’ Year – New You – New Career?

I am looking forward to what is ahead

So, this all started when I was approached to do a podcast, I mean I’m almost a celebrity now, after a radio talk show to now podcasts ha ha. I decided to talk from a person who 20 cough cough, plus years ago truly knew nothing about apprenticeships, and actually if I had my time again would I have done one. Probably!


Yes, I did an internationally recognized qual, and yes, I could do a 5-star treatment (with out blowing my own trumpet), but could I answer the phone, did I know about loyalty schemes, how to book holidays, wages and all the rest of the hands-on experience. No, I was a nervous wreck! But the hands-on experience would have given me that before I’d even stepped into a college.


Did you know apprenticeships go up to a degree level? Nah, neither did I!

Kick start a career, On the job (in the industry) and off the job (college), earn while you learn - You get paid to go to college, how crazy is that? A HA!! Now I have you thinking.

Just going to name drop now; David Beckham – Jamie Oliver – Alexander McQueen – John Frieda – Gordon Ramsey – all started by doing an apprenticeship!! (Please tell me you know who these people are, and I’m not that old).


How and when is the best time to apply?


Applying is easy peasy! Just drop me an email samanthap@acaciatraining.co.uk with your CV and a covering email, doesn’t have to be anything fancy. Just enough to know you’re there. I’ll guide you with the rest. Can I say though, check your emails, so many don’t, why?

Do it ASAP, as soon as you know you want to do it. At our college, to maintain high standards, with have a limited amount of spaces!


In the meantime, have you got insta? Who hasn’t, but just checking.

SHOW OFF!! Nobody likes a show, except me, and your potential employer, post those nails you did for mum, the glamour pic of the make-up you did for your bestie, what about getting ready for Halloween, bet there’s some make-up skills to be shown.

Are you on linkedin? This is a professional social media, you haven’t got it, get it!!

@isobt_acacia add us – ping there she is plugging again.


Am I too old?

“Educating yourself does not mean that you were stupid in the first place; it means that you are intelligent enough to know that there is plenty enough left to learn!” – Melanie Joy

In short, no!


What do I need for an apprenticeship?

Passion, and drive! Everything else we can deal with.

Focus on your GSCE Maths and English if you can, but don’t get that overwhelmed it consumes you. We can do functional skills if required, we embed it anyway alongside some wider skills, global skills. Creating the person, you want to be.


How to hire an apprentice?!

What an opportunity to give somebody? You would be responsible for that person being able to kickstart their career, giving back to the industry by encouraging, and empowering new talent. Mould your future workforce.


So, it’s scary right, what if you take them on and they’re awful or naughty. This won’t happen, you know why, you interview them, or even better you pick them. Therefore, they fit you, your team and your setting. We train them, but they’re your team mate.

To do that you gotta advertise, tell your clients, they may have a niece, a grandson, a long-lost sister. Get it all over your social media, tag everyone, including me, I’ll share the life out of it. (After all I love a free plug/advertising). Let’s go traditional too, get advertising on indeed/additional job sites.

So, with all staff they have to be paid, for apprentice the current wage is £4.81 per hour, they are paid for being at college, and with you in setting. That covers them for 30 hours in total. The full programs with us is 15-18 months, this differs for each qualification and industry.

Whilst on the apprenticeship journey, I am there to hold your hand, to nurture and support.

On completion of the apprenticeship, once they have passed that End-point assessment, the goal we are all reaching for is a job offer.


I want More!

Excellent who doesn’t! Yeah, I run two college’s and we sell that we are this lovely little company that will be your family during and after your training. But the truth is, we’re under the umbrella of Acacia training Ltd, therefore we have the luxury to hand hold, while giving you the extra’s – Skills Knowledge and behaviours, progression, careers info advice and guidance HR skills CV writing, interview techniques, mental health support, self-employment guidance, skills workshops, financial to healthy eating, event planning, global and wider skills, learning support, not only now and in beauty, but in a whole range of sectors and with all different levels!





You do you! Do what you love! If I’m honest, this is the only way, we work long hours, it’s got to be something we love.

41 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page