top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamantha Elizabeth

Beauty Babe – Samantha Perry 4 – Beauty – Cost of Living – How’s it effecting the industry?



I’m scared, are you scared, nah me neither

So, let’s have a talk about the world for a second. I decided I couldn’t ignore it any longer, and I wanted to know what it meant for us, the beauty therapists of the world.

Stick with me, there’s some hard facts, but it ends with a positive, come on you know me by now, if I haven’t said ‘Positive Mental Thinking’ to you at some point, we’ve never spoken ha ha.


3 out of 4 people are feeling worried, of those 81% women, obviously we’ve probably got it on our to do list, and 73% men, this worries me, because if my husband worries, then I really need to worry!

68% of adults are spending less, ½ of adults are feeling worried every day.

So does this mean we need to treat our clients due to stress. Are we a non-essential industry”? And are we getting quieter?

Let’s hang on to this thought, the cost of living v’s wellbeing.

1 in 10 people have given up make-up, and half of 20-year-olds have reduced their skincare regimen. Can I mention it doesn’t mention my age category, as we need all the help we can get.

Is it that quarter of people just use what their friend recommends therefore it’s wrong for their skin type – meaning it’s a waste of money with no results? Big tip, listen to the professionals not the Karen’s.

Right let’s flip this, and discuss the “lipstick effect”, this is a theory named by big brands where instead of the coffees and the chocolates, we find our mood boosters from luxuries such as lip balms, false nails and eyelashes.

It seems that when the world experiences economic down turns, the spending behavior shows the up in the “Lipstick Effect”.

I’m totally guilty of this and in the words of my best friend “TikTok made me buy it”, I believe her, not sure her it’ll wash with her husband though, shhh.

So maybe we shouldn’t buy a new outfit, maybe encourage a new lipstick, hair do, or lashes – then it’s the same but different.

Because of the above behavior beauty brands are seeing a 10% increase on last year. I see it with my own eyes. I’ve been bobbing about the shops this weekend and so has the whole of the UK by the looks of it.

I don’t listen to the news as a rule, I’m a sponge for negative scare mongering, and I’d sit here in the cold, dark and suck on an ice cube if I did, thinking “oh my days, what are we going to do?!”. Then the next second I’m thinking “Meh, we’re all in the same boat, right?! The shops are rammed, they’re not scared, so I’m not scared”.

Reading that I’m like a fish, going round in circles. My poor colleagues, how do they cope?!

I overhear daily “it’s got to turn around soon”, so in essence keep doing what you’re doing queens and kings of the beauty world, we’re smashing it, all we need to do now is find you some staff, so you can accommodate those clients. – I’m on it 😊




17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page